BetteBack 1974: The Tony Award Nominations ~ April 21, 1974

Zanesville Times Recorder
Tony Awards Will Be Presented Tonight
Drama Editor
April 21, 1974

NEW YORK (UPI) – The “Oscars” of Broadway–the 1974 Tony Awards–will be presented from New York tonight in a two-hour. 20-minute colorcast on the ABC network starting at 9 p.m

On hand in the Shubert Theater where it ail takes place will be the usual capacity crowd of show business and other celebrities.

They will hear the results of secret balloting by some 400 persons connected in one way or another with the theater Nominees in 18 categories were chosen in March by a committee of seven critics and other theater people selected by the League of New York Theaters, which sponsors this event.

The entertainment that will surround the announcements of the winners has been devised, as usual, by producer Alexander H. Cohen and his writers months ago. Stars Carol Channing, Ralph Carter, Virginia Capers, Michele Lee and the Andrews Sisters are involved.

Hosts, or presenters, of the awards include stars Florence Henderson, Peter Falk, Robert Preston, Cicley Tyson, Bea Arthur, Alice Faye, John Payne and Dom DeLuise.

Special Awards

There will be three special awards: Eugene O’Neill’s “A Moon for the Misbegotten” as “an outstanding dramatic revival of a major American play:” the revival of “Candide” as “an outstanding contribution to the artistic development of the musical theater;” Peter Cook and Dudley Moore, authors and performers of “Good Evening.” for “a unique contribution to the theater of comedy.” to” singers Bette Midler and Liza Minnelli “for superior concert entertainment on the Broadway stage.”

The following are the nominees in the competitive categories:

Best play- ‘The Au Paire Man” by Hugh Leonard, producer, Joseph Papp; “Boom Boom Room” by David Rabe, producer Papp; “The River Niger” by Joseph A. Walker, producer, Negro Ensemble Company; “Ulysses in Nighttown” by Marjorie B a r k e n t m ( d e c e a s e d ), producers Alexander H. Cohen and Bernard Delfont (Tonys to both author,producers)

Best MusicalOver Here! -‘Raisin.” “Seesaw” (Tonys to producers, respectively, Kenneth Waissman and Maxine Fox; Robert Nemiroff; Joseph Kipness, Lawrence Kasha, James Nederlander. George M. Steinbrenner III. Lorin Price).

Best book of a musical- Hugh Wheeler, “Candide;” Robert Nemiroff and Charlotte Za l t z b e rg ( d e c e a s e d ), “Raisin;” Michael Bennett, “Seesaw.”

Best Score

Best score–Frederick Loewe, lyrics, Alan Jay Lerner, music. “Gigi;” Peter Link, music. Neil Simon, lyrics, “The Good Doctor;” Judd Woldin, music, Robert Bnttan, lyrics, “Raisin;” Cy Coleman, music, Dorothy Fields (deceased), music, “Seesaw.”

Best actor, play– Michael Moriarity. “Find Your Way Home:” Zero Mostel, “Ulysses in Nighttown”: Jason Robards, “A Moon for the Misbegotten;” George C. Scott. “Uncle Vanya. ” Nicol Williamson. “Uncle Vanya.

Best actress, play – Jane Alexander. “Find Your Way Home,” Colleen Dewhurst. “A Moon for the Misbegotten;” Julie Harris, “The Au Pair Man:” Madeline Kahn. “Boom Boom Room;” Rachael Roberts of the New Phoenix Repertory Company.

Best actor, musical– Alfred Drake. “Gigi:” iloe Morton. “Raisin;” Christopher Plummer, “The Good Doctor:”Lewis J. Stadlen. “Candide.”

Best, actress, musical– Virginia Capers. “Raisin:” Carol Channing, “Lorelei.” Michele Lee. “Seesaw ”

Supporting Actor

Best supporting actor. play Rene Auberjonois. “The Good Doctor:” Ed Flanders. “A Moon for Misbegotten:” Douglas Turner Ward. “The River Niger:” Dick Williams, “What the Wine-Sellers Buy.”

Best supporting actress, play– Regina Baff. “Veronica’s Room:” Fionnuala Flanagan, Uly«sps in Nighttown-” Charlotte Moore. “Chemin de Fen” Roxie Roker. “Raisin:” Frances Sternhagen.” The Good Doctor.”

Best supporting actor. musical– Mark Baker. “Candide;” Ralph Carter, “Raisin:” Tommy Tune. “Seesaw.”

Best supporting actress,musical– Leigh Beery, “Cyrano:” Maureen Brennan. “Candide:” “June Gable. “Candide:” Ernestine Jackson, “Raisin;” Janie Sell, “Over Here!”

Best director, play– Burgess Meredith, “Ulysses in Nighttown:” Mike Nichols, “Uncle Vanya;” Stephen Porter. “Chemin de Fer;” Jose Quintero. “A Moon for the Misbegotten:” Edwin Sherin, “Find Your Way Home.”

More Bests

Best director, musical–Michael Bennett, “Seesaw;” Donald McKayle. “Raisin:” Tom Moore. “Over Here!;” Harold Prince. “Candide.”

Best scenic designer– John Conklin, “The Au Pair Man:” Franne and Eugene Lee, “Candide:” Santo Loquasto. “Boom Boom Room;” Oliver Smith, “Gigi,” Ed Wittstein, “Ulysses in Nighttown.”

Best costume designer– Theoni V. Aldredge, “The Au Pair Man;” Finlay James, “Crown Matrimonial;” Franne Lee, “Candide;” Oliver Messel, “Gigi;” Carrie F. Robbins, “Over Here!”

Best lighting designer– Martin Aronstein. “Boom Boom Room;” Ken Billington, “The Visit:” Ben Edwards, “A Moon for the Misbegotten:” Jules Fisher. “Ulysses in Nighttown;” Tharon Musser, “The Good Doctor”

Best Choreographer– Michael Bennett, “Seesaw;” Patricia Jirch, “Over Here!;” Donald McKayle. “Raisin.”

First Tonys in 1947

I was there in 1947 when the first awards, a memorial to the late director Antoinette Perry, were announced.

In 1947 there were no awards for best play or musical, although various acting and other categories were involved. The first play to win a Tony was “Mister Roberts” in 1948 and the first of the outsized silvered medallions tor a musical went to “Kiss Me. Kate” in 1949.

Share A little Divinity

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Verified by MonsterInsights