‘Dear Evan Hansen’ wins Grammy Award for Best Musical Theater Album, Not ‘Hello Dolly’

Broadway News
‘Dear Evan Hansen’ wins Grammy Award for Best Musical Theater Album
By Caitlin Huston
January 28, 2018

Dear Evan Hansen

“Dear Evan Hansen” added another award to its shelf Sunday.

The musical won the 2018 Grammy Award for Best Musical Theater Album, over its competitors “Hello, Dolly!” and “Come From Away.” “Dear Evan Hansen” also won three Tony Awards in 2017: Best Musical, Best Original Score and Best Book of Musical.

The Grammy Award also adds to the building acclaim for composers Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, who now have an Oscar, for their work on “La La Land,” as well as a Tony and a Grammy for “Dear Evan Hansen.”

In addition to Pasek and Paul, the Grammy was awarded to the original cast of “Dear Evan Hansen,” which featured Ben Platt, Laura Dreyfuss, Mike Faist, Kristolyn Lloyd, Michael Park, Will Roland, Jennifer Laura Thompson and Rachel Bay Jones. The album producers were Alex Lacamoire and Stacey Mindich.

Platt was scheduled to perform at the Grammy Awards Sunday night, singing “Somewhere” from West Side Story.

Share A little Divinity

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Verified by MonsterInsights