BetteBack 1974: Bette Nominated For Three Grammy Awards

Van Nuys Valley News And Green Sheet
Stevie Wonder Leads List of Candidates for Grammys
January 18, 1974

Blind singer-composer Stevie Wonder, with six nominations, led the list of candidates yesterday for the music industry’s coveted Grammy Awards.

The National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences announced the nominations during a news Conference at the Hollywood Palladium. Presentations will be made on March 2.

Sponsors said final ballots were mailed to judges this week. There were 261 nominations in 46 categories.

Won 2 Grammies

Wonder, blind since birth, had two nominations as a composer and four as a performer. His “You Are The Sunshine of My Life” was nominated for Song of The Year, while his rendition of that song was in contention for best male pop vocal performance.

Roberta Flack, who won two Grammies in 1973, was nominated this year for Record of The Year and Best Female Pop Performance of The Year, both for “Killing Me Soft]y With His Song.” The song also was nominated for Album of The Year.

Among Nominations

Among the nominations announced yesterday were:

”¢ Record of The Year: “Big. Bad Leroy Brown,” by Jim Croce; “Behind Closed Doors” by Charlie Rich; “Killing Me Softly With His Song” Roberta Flac; “You Are The Sunshine of My Life” by Stevie Wonder; and “You’re So Vain” by Carly Simon.

”¢ Album of The Year: “Behind Closed Doors” by Charlie Rich, Billy Sherrill producer; “The Divine Miss M” by Bette Midler, Joel Dorn, Barry Manilow, Geoffry Haslam and Ahmet Ertegun producers; ‘”Innervisions” by Stevie Wonder, Wonder producer; “Killing Me Softly” by Miss Flack, Joel Dorn producer; and ”There Goes Khyniin’ Simon” by’ Paul Simon. Simon producer.

”¢ Song of The Year: “Behind Closed Doors” written by Kenny O’Dell; “Killing Me Softly With His Song” by Norman Gimbel and Charles Fox; “Tie A Yellow Ribbon Around The Old Oak Tree” by Irwin Levine and L. Russel Brown; “You Are The Sunshine Of My Life” by Stevie Wonder; and “You’re So Vain” by Carlv Simon.

Ӣ Best New Artist Of The Year: Eumir Deodato, .Maureen McGovern, Bette Midler, Marie Osmond and Barry. White.

”¢ Best Female Pop Vocal Performance: “Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy” by Bette Midler; “Danny’s Song” by Anne Murray; “Killing Me Softly With His Song” by Roberta Flack; “Touch Me in The Morning” by Diana Ross; and “You’re So Vain” by Carly Simon.

”¢ Best Male Pop Vocal of The Year: “And I Love You So” by Perry Como; “Bad, Bad Leroy Brown” by Jim Croce; “Daniel” by Elton John; “There Goes Rhymin’ Simon” by Paul Simon: and “You Are The Sunshine of My Life” by Stevie Wonder.

Share A little Divinity

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Verified by MonsterInsights